The Modern Jazz Quartet

The Modern Jazz Quartet
Years active
since 1952
United States
Jazz quartet formed in 1952 by former members of the Dizzy Gillespie band. The quartet was important in the development of jazz in the 1950s, and although they officially disbanded in 1974, they’ve reformed for both concerts and recordings several times.
Connie Kay    Drums (1955-1974)
John Lewis    Piano (1952-1974)
Kenny Clarke    Drums (1952-1955): left after a dispute with John Lewis over the musical direction of the quartet.
Milt Jackson    Vibraphone (1952-1974)
Percy Heath    Bass (1955-1974)
Modern Jazz Society   

Added by tsk

Popular Originals

Popular Covers by The Modern Jazz Quartet